Senegal ratifies the Nagoya Protocol

Following the ratification by Senegal, the total number of ratifications to the Nagoya Protocol on Access to Genetic Resources and the Fair and Equitable Sharing of Benefits Arising from their Utilization now stands at 73. In addition, South Africa issued the second internationally recognized certificate of compliance on 23 March 2016, following a permit made available to the Access and Benefit-sharing (ABS) Clearing-House.
"With the ratification by Senegal, 32 African countries have now ratified the Nagoya Protocol, sending a
strong and clear signal of the region's commitment to the implementation of the Protocol," said Braulio
Ferreira de Souza Dias, Executive Secretary of the Convention on Biological Diversity. "The issuance of
the second certificate by South Africa is also an excellent advance towards making the Nagoya Protocol
operational. I congratulate the Government of South Africa, and look forward to seeing others follow this example."
The Government of Senegal deposited its instrument of ratification with the Secretary-General of the
United Nations on 3 March 2016. Ratification by September 2016 will enable countries to participate in
decision-making at the second meeting of the Parties to the Nagoya Protocol to be held in December 2016, and to further advance the treaty's global implementation. Further information on becoming a Party to the Nagoya Protocol is available at:
Following the issuance of a permit by South Africa, the second internationally recognized certificate of compliance (IRCC) was constituted through the ABS Clearing-House. The permit was made available by South Africa's Department of Environmental Affairs, the competent national authority under the Nagoya Protocol, and grants access to Sceletium tortuosum (Kanna plant) and associated traditional knowledge for commercial use.
Under the Nagoya Protocol, issuance at the time of access of a permit or its equivalent serve as evidence
that access to genetic resources was based on prior informed consent and that mutually agreed terms were established. Parties are required by the Nagoya Protocol to make information on issuance of permits, or their equivalent, available to the ABS Clearing-House.
Once the information on the permit is published by the country in the ABS Clearing-House, it automatically becomes the IRCC. The first IRCC was constituted in October 2015 following a permit made available by the Government of India.

No comments:

google pagerank checker by